Be my witness …..

I don’t know what comes to your mind when you read the title of this blog… be my witness….because rarely will you find this term floated around outside a courtroom, and yes on many occasions when signing contracts… The first thought that came to mind when I first thought of this title was marriage, and no it has nothing to do with the family and friends witnessing and celebrating the next part of your life nor is it about a best man and best maid being a witness in your wedding and actually signing on the dotted line on the marriage certificate that indeed they saw and helped and confirmed that you did get married to so and so.

My thought process was on the person that you are marrying, maybe I need to explain how I have seen things growing up(well on tv to be precise ;(I look at it this way, you are born and your parents are crazy about you, they document each and every step you take, each and every milestone you achieve, have baby photos and videos and some even go to the extent of keeping the first paper you ever colored! This is where you all go awwwww **** (yes I would love to documents all this for my kids ;)).

I mean you can see and tell the sense of pride when mothers recount the first time you walked, or the first time you called them mum, your first day at school and what not… but life goes on and around 18 years later life kinda settles down, you are either in university or college or working and apart from the random photos your friends take of you or the ones you take in the bathroom for the sake of face book and twitter nothing much is documented, a diary /journal helps but most days it goes unwritten. You see life moves on, the hustle continues and your parents, sisters, brothers are all busy with their own lives, you catch up on how one is doing once in a while and that’s about it.

Image

My love “Your life will not go unnoticed because I will notice it, your life will not go un witnessed because I will be your witness “ I came across these words in my diary I think I was in my early 20’s when I wrote them down, can’t remember where I got them from but they made me go all gooyyy hi hi  hi you know just imagining that a union like marriage would be a setting where your spouse this one person that God has brought in your life would be your witnesses because really this is the one person that you will spend the rest of your life with, bible says till death do you part (yes I am those chicks who believe and know that marriage is for forever, no two way about it) so just the idea of it all was pretty exciting and unsettling at the same time.

Unsettling in the sense that what if this person got busy? What if they died? Should my husband be the only person who witnesses or notices my life, its progress, its up’s and down, its successes and its failures. Don’t you think that’s a huge task to place on someone? As all these questions went through my mind I asked myself so what, do I sit and wait until i am married to have someone to witness my life?  How does it impact my Christian life? I mean if I don’t have a witness how I walk as a Christian, doesn’t that mean I can do wherever, or I can compromise and still be a Christian. How does it impact me as a single person? As more questions went through my mind I was reminded of a very interesting verse in the bible which I had read over and over again but never really thought about it in this context.

The bible in Hebrew 12:1 say therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us.

Please tell me that you just got a light bulb because I did, I envisioned all sorts of people witnessing my life, my Christian life, you know the road to accomplishing my goals and purpose and all this people were just cheering me on and through the word of God they were advising me and giving me tips and guiding me which way to go, what to take seriously and what to check off my list of priorities and plans….

In my understanding of this verse Noah is looking down from heaven and telling me don’t quit! Whether people on earth think you are crazy, whether they mock you and make fun of you and the things you do and believe in don’t quit! As long as God has commanded you to do something don’t quit!

Abraham is pleading with me, obey Ciku…obey the word of God and all the promises that He has set out for you, He will accomplish, I mean look at my life I became the father of all nations ! God gave me a son at an age where it was impossible for my wife to get children, have faith in God and wherever He send you just pick up your stuff and head out.

Daniel tells me to quit whining…. if I think life is unfair I should jump into a lion’s den for one night and see how unfair life really is… I mean He refused to bow down to an idol and was left to die but God rescued him.

Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego …where do I even begin with these guys, tide and thrown in a furnace of fire with the assurance that whether they lived or died they would never worship another God if it’s not Jehovah.

Stephen, the one that was stoned like a dog for the sake of Christ, have we ever undergone persecution? Have you ever been slapped for your faith? Let alone be insulted for your beliefs. I hear him say whatever it takes, there is only one God and He alone is God. Whether He decided to come through for you or not…just remember heaven.

Jesus the Lord Jesus Christ himself the pain, the agony to carry my sins to the cross…..the beatings, the mockery, the shame all for me and you. I cant even describe what Jesus went through…He says I went all this for you that you may have life and be my witness till the ends of the world.

The Holy Spirit Acts 1:8 But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit comes on you; and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the ends of the earth.” How can you even say you are alone when a verse like this exists in the bible?

I can’t mention all the people who are looking down from heaven and all the lessons that we can learn from them, but they are our witnesses, they cheer us one, they urge us on, they encourage through their stories of faith and pain and triumph and their love for God is supposed to remind us that we are not alone, there are people who went before us and persevered and we can do it too….Apart from God almighty we do have witnesses in our lives, everyday every moment they cheer us on to finish the race, to accomplish the tasks , to fulfill the purpose that God set out for us from the beginning of time.

I may not know what you are going through right now but I just want to remind you that you are not alone and God is able to see you through no matter the circumstances, and each and every moment of your life is being witnessed. Yes, those moments when you feel like you are stuck in a rut, when all your friends are getting married and there is no one in sight, when the boss decided to promote that new girl and pushes you aside, when you save and its just never enough, when your family seems like its falling apart, when you are fighting an addiction and you can’t see any progress, when they call you all sorts of names because you got a child out of wedlock, when you feel empty, broken and unworthy of anything good. Even on those times your life is witnessed, and these witnesses have been through what you have been through and some much worse but you can draw encouragement and take a step to live another day.

 

The bible in Jeremiah 32:17 says “O Sovereign LORD! You made the heavens and earth by your strong hand and powerful arm. Nothing is too hard for you!

 

4 thoughts on “Be my witness …..

  1. Thank you sweets your such a blessing, encouragement! Oh how you spur me, GOD bless you!! Keep on keeping on!!!

Leave a Reply

