Winning or whining?

James 1:12

Blessed are those who endure when they are tested. When they pass the test, they will receive the crown of life that God has promised to those who love Him.

During the first two weeks of the year I made quite a number of prayers, asking God to guide and show me the way forward, asking that He makes His will and path clear so that I don’t stumble my way through the year, I remember specifically sitting at my grandmothers garden since I had gone to visit her and basically tell her what I was up to and yes I had terribly missed her! As I prayed God brought a word in my heart, the word was “Test…..it’s a test” yes I had the same look on my face, I started wondering what the test was? What it was about? And why a test?

If you are like me generally I don’t like tests!! Ever since I was in school I found them time consuming, competitive and downright boring…..don’t even get me started in the tests at the hospital.i guess that why when I went to study counseling and psychology and got to know that we dint have to sit for any kind of tests I was ecstatic ! But a year later the tests were introduced and had to be administered before one got to graduate and I was a frustrated young woman. Over time I have come to tolerate them, I tried embracing them but It just dint work!!

Test…it’s a test !those words were all that could play in my mind that day so I went digging in the word of God to see what this was all about. I was shocked to find that the word test appeared 11 times , the word tested 10 times and was referred to the word tempt and temptation 18 times . and there is a possibility that there could be more but to me this was quite a revelation, I was excited and eager to read and find out what God was saying, what instructions He was giving, what He expected from me but at the same time I was worried, and concerned and afraid….Let’s be honest its usually one thing to not know what your expected to do and just stumble your way through the right path and it’s a different scenario when you do know what you are expected to do and don’t do it !

Exodus 20:20 says and Moses said to the people “do not fear, for God has come to test you and that His fear may be before you, so that you may not sin.

If I could quickly take you 2 chapters before in the book of exodus, this was the time when God had given Moses the ten commandments and sent him to pass them on to the Israelites, the Lord had come down upon mount Sinai and the people were afraid and asked Moses to speak for them least they hear from God and die. It Is quite interesting because these people had seen God do marvelous, and miraculous deeds in their lives yet they still rebelled and went ahead to make and worship idols, I mean when the situations in their lives at any point got a bit difficult or uncomfortable they would complain and murmur and wish they would go back to Egypt forgetting all that God had done for them. Haven’t we been here before? One day everything is working great and we are praising and giving testimonies but the minute things take a down turn we just can’t stand it.

As I read through some more Genesis 22:1, Psalm 17:3, 1 Timothy 3:10, Acts 5:9, 1 Corinthians 3;13 which speak about being tested and testing, we are actually encouraged to test things and there are promises in God ‘s word that we will be tested ! Life is a test, think about it each and every day of our lives we face some kind of situation, a decision to make , they may not be hard or life threatening ,urgent decisions not really , they maybe be a test of our character, loyalty, kindness, even integrity ! From creation God tested Adam and Eve, but they failed their test, this does not mean we will fail, no, because the bible gives us many examples of people who passed their test; Daniel, Jesus, Moses, Abraham and many others.

Rick warren in his book purpose driven life writes “we don’t know all the tests God will give us, but we can predict some of them, you will be tested by major changes, delayed promises, impossible problems, answered prayers, undeserved criticism, and even senseless tragedies, In his own life he has noticed that God tests his FAITH through problems, tests his HOPE by how he handles possessions , and tests his LOVE through people” the bible has made one thing clear 1 Corinthians 10:13 No temptation has over taken you except such as is common to man, But God is faithful, who will not allow you to be tempted beyond what you are able, but with the temptation will also make the way of escape, that you maybe be able to bear it.

So why test us? I mean what for? Can’t God just tell us what to do and how to go about it! As I said before, I hate tests! but then I am reminded that we are humans, and God has given us freedom of choice, 1 Peter 6:9 says ‘so be truly glad there is a wonderful joy ahead, even through you have to endure many trials for a little while. These trials will show that your faith is genuine .it is being tested as fire tests and purifies gold-though your faith is far more precious than gold. So when your faith remains strong through many trials, it will bring you much praise and glory and honor on the day when Jesus Christ will be revealed to the whole world. Every test that we go through is for God’s glory! God’s honor and it brings Him much praise!! Which is part of why He created us in the first place?

God loves each and every one of us and seeks to draw us to Himself each and every day, for the last so days I have known this truth and I am purposing to live it out, I purpose to pass my tests , I want to be more aware of things that happen around me, more aware of when I am about to tell a lie, when I want to compromise, when I am faced with disappointment, when I am in conflict, my response to people etc…And I believe by living out this truth I am growing in my character and learning to depend on God. I may not always pass them let me be honest but I know the few times is I do my God notices and I please Him.

One of the ways that I feel that I am being really tested on this season is my trust in God, I remember early this month I talked to a friend, and anyone within earshot of our little chatty-chat would have thought that I was intoxicated, I was ranting and raving about God’s timing and plan I mean, don’t we just love giving God the reigns in all areas of our lives? And just sit back and watch Him disentangle the kinks and knots we have made in or folly? If you are anything like me, then this description is not true of you.

What test I am going through right now you ask? The test of self doubt, the test of procrastination, knowing what I ought to do but never really getting down to it, the test of living an unhealthy lifestyle, you should see the things I eat and hear what my doctor has to say…the test of choices I make every day. What test are you going through today? Are you winning or whining?

Blessings

Ciku

2 thoughts on “Winning or whining?

  1. That thought of winning and whining has crossed my mind too. they are only close in spelling, I’ve realised when you step out in Faith and stop whinning things happen. However procrastination and an unhealthy lifestyle are things we bring upon ourselves.

    Thanks for the words

Leave a Reply

